‘The finest example of traditional milling technology in working order in its original setting’ in Victoria, and probably Australia. The three storey brick mill of 1865 and later granary extension, the flanking two-storey brick residence, the evocative collection of farm buildings, and the peppercorn- and pine tree-lined drive from the gatehouse comprise an unforgettable heritage site. Listed on the Victorian Heritage Register.
Shepparton’s oldest building, constructed as the first public hall by William Fraser in 1873. Used for many different purposes, e.g. Foresters’ Lodge (1933). Many absorbing exhibits: see the Post Office clock! Various publications for sale.
Head to SAM to see the history of Shepparton reflected in the exhibition 80/80: Eighty Years of SAM, the Collection. Highlights include portraits from Shepparton’s colonial era, indigenous artworks and, of course, ceramics.
This ‘amphitheatre–style’ church opened in time for Christmas 1908, constructed by local builder, funeral director and devoted Methodist TJ Kittle. The well-known firm of George Fincham installed the pipe organ, costing £1376, in 1951. Hear the heritage pipe organ played by Graeme Brewer at 2pm.
Louis Williams, a renowned church architect, designed this 1926 church with his particular twentieth century adaptation of Gothic and his usual emphasis on quality and craftsmanship. Note the beautiful features of the interior.
Originally the Shepparton Free Library and Workingmen’s Club (1884); the Public Library replaced the billiard room in the 1950s. The cream brick Moderne façade dates to the 1940s, with extensive later remodelling completed by 2005.
The Shepparton Fibro Plaster Works were established in 1926 as Brown and Anderson. See where the linings of many Shepparton homes originated and hear about the process. A heritage business! Good walking shoes required.
Dating from 1874, adjoined for many years by the now forgotten Shepparton Park State School, today the range of burial practices to be seen in this fascinating cemetery reflects the multicultural nature of the community.
One of the imposing large houses designed by renowned Shepparton architect JAK Clarke, this Queen Anne-styled building (c.1900) was the home of the mining entrepreneur and politician William Orr. Also visit the interesting stable/coach house.
Designed by prominent Australian architect Frederick Romberg and opened in 1982 as part of the International Village, the Centre houses an important collection of Indigenous cultural items from the local area and beyond. Listed on the Victorian Heritage Register
The Philippine House, portraying a typical (if ideal) Philippine home, was constructed in 1988 as part of the International Village. Restored in 2015, it houses Philippine history and artefacts, and hosts community activities.
Visit SPC’s oldest remaining cool stores, an historic section of Shepparton’s iconic enterprise. Heritage technology! BYO torch.
Designed by renowned local architect JAK Clarke in 1900, St Brendan’s was renovated and enlarged to the design of high profile and prolific Catholic architect AA Fritsch in 1923-24, with later alterations and additions.
Visit the impressive two-storey convent and boarders’ accommodation erected in 1916-17 by the Sisters of Mercy, their previous convent having been condemned. The Marist Brothers took over the site as a boys’ school in 1951.
From Coghlan’s Hotel in the early 1880s to Union Hotel to the Hotel Australia in 1929: most of this building dates from the rebuilding in 1898. Take a tour through the hotel, including the former family area and the cellar.
Heritage also includes traditions and customs. Behind the unassuming (post-)modern frontage, the rituals of Freemasonry are enacted. Learn about these beliefs and practices and see the related furniture and artefacts.
The 1889 brick tower, no longer needed and minus its tall wrought iron tank, is an iconic local landmark being preserved by GV Water for its regionally significant heritage value.
This c.1885 railway hotel was thoroughly remodelled in the Moderne style in 1938 by prominent Melbourne architects, JF Ballantyne and Roy Wilson, who extended the ground floor and added an upper storey.
Shepparton’s second Catholic parish erected this distinctive futuristic church, by Triesteborn architect Ermin Smrekar, in 1970. It catered to the influx of Italian migrants as Shepparton expanded. The spaciousness of the interior is striking.
Last of a kind. This quaint small weatherboard church from 1899 is the only example in the municipality of this once-common type still hosting regular services. Supervising architect was Shepparton’s renowned JAK Clarke.
This proud little 1924 Memorial hall, topped by its trophy WW1 German trench mortar, retains many interesting artefacts. At £2500, it cost the small community £1000 more than Shepparton’s famous statue. See the RSL ‘dugout’.
Very popular for weddings due to its picturesque rural setting outside Dookie, on land donated by local squire John Curtain, this impressive 1898 church is a prominent local landmark. The presbytery is now a monastery.
The first agricultural college (1886) for the state of Victoria and the second for Australia: originally Cashel Experimental Farm. Now part of Melbourne University, to many it is still the region’s iconic ‘ag college.’
Often described locally as ‘the Catholic cemetery,’ in contrast to the Dookie East (Cashel) cemetery. Situated on the western slopes of Mount Major, views to the west providing a striking panoramic backdrop to the graves.
A huge and varied collection relating to Mooroopna’s history is attractively displayed throughout the former Grutzner House. The sometimes gruesome medical collection, the largest in country Victoria, relates particularly to the Mooroopna Hospital.
Designed in 1938 by hotel specialist, architect DF Cowell Ham, this Moderne building replaced an earlier hotel. In 2016 the owners successfully converted the building to provide a retail space, coffee bar and restaurant.
This fine cemetery, with its stately avenue of cotton palms, includes 19th century graves of ethnic Chinese and the unmarked graves of 937 persons of many nationalities who died between 1881 and 1944 in the Mooroopna Base Hospital.
The award-winning Heritage Centre collects and preserves Murchison’s history. Informative displays cover the Aboriginal Protectorate, Day’s Mill, Camp 13 and much more. See sporting memorabilia, and part of the famous Murchison meteorite!
This charming red brick Gothic country church of 1884 contains high quality memorial windows by two well-known Melbourne firms of glass manufacturers, Brooks Robinson and W Montgomery.
This fascinating early cemetery (1860) contains the graves of three local Ngooraialim Aborigines. The distinctive Italian Ossario houses the remains of 130 Italian POWs and internees who died on Australian soil, many in the local camps.
The fascinating WW2 internment and POW camps collection is of State heritage significance. Irrigation is the other focus: from the original four-roomed building (c.1888) the irrigation scheme for the western Goulburn Valley was developed. Listed on the Victorian Heritage Register.
Explore the twin halls, reinvigorated and restored by concerted local effort, which now enrich the Tatura streetscape and again provide a social and cultural focal point. Hear about their history from those who saved them.
This imposing group of church, convent, and the former St Mary’s school, on a prominent site in the town, reflects Tatura’s strong Catholic allegiances. The detailed Romanesque (round-arched) exterior is complemented by the beautiful interior.
Constructed in 1912 to replace the town’s original iron tank (still nearby), this is a early surviving example of its type, built by John Monash’s concrete company for local engineer AE Castles. Recently refurbished.
The first foreign war cemetery established in Australia. In 1958-1961 the bodies of almost all German internees and POWs who died in Australia during World Wars 1 and 2 were reburied here. Listed on the Victorian Heritage Register.
The two corrugated iron sections of this quaint hall were originally huts in local internment camps. Briefly famous as a ‘heritage country hall’ in a supermarket advertisement involving many locals. Adaptive reuse from the 1940s.
One of the most extensive collections in the municipality; includes agricultural machinery and household items. The Judd family conducted their general store here for 66 years. A rare original early 20th century shop front.