Please note: this is an archived news article release

This article was published on Thursday, 13 July, 2017. The information contained within may be out of date or inaccurate. News articles and media releases older than 60 days are archived for future reference.

Nominations for Calder Woodburn committee needed

Greater Shepparton City Council is seeking nominations from individuals interested in joining the recently formed Calder Woodburn Memorial Avenue Advisory Committee.

The Memorial Avenue was planted between 1945 and 1949 as a living memorial to all local servicemen who did not return from the Second World War. The Memorial Avenue consists of more than 2,400 trees over a length of nearly 20 kilometres along the Goulburn Valley Highway. The Memorial Avenue is the grandest and largest of the Second World War commemorative plantings in Victoria, and is important for its use of only Australian native trees.

In recent years, the integrity of the Memorial Avenue has suffered: sections are heavily degraded with missing trees, areas with significant regrowth of native and non-native vegetation, and areas where weed species have taken hold.

The Advisory Committee is tasked with investigating ways of maintaining, enhancing and conserving the cultural heritage and environmental values of the Memorial Avenue. It will also investigate possible funding opportunities for any conservation works.

The Advisory Committee has representatives from seven member organisations and Council. It also has three community representative positions for members of the community. The community representative positions are voting members of the Advisory Committee and are appointed for a two year term.

Those with an interest in the Memorial Avenue are encouraged to apply. There are likely to be 3-4 Committee meetings each year. The appointments will commence in September 2017 and end in September 2019.

Nomination forms are available on Council’s website or in the foyer of Greater Shepparton City Council’s offices at 90 Welsford Street, Shepparton; Mooroopna Library, 9-11 Morrell Street, Mooroopna; Shepparton Library, 41-42 Marungi Street, Shepparton and Tatura Library, 12-16 Casey Street, Tatura.

Nominations close at 5pm on Friday, 4 August 2017.

 For more information or to register your interest in joining the Advisory Committee, please contact Michael MacDonagh, Team Leader Strategic Planning, via telephone on 03 5832 9730 or via e-mail at


Want to get the latest news and events in your Facebook feed?
Just go to our Facebook page and click the Like button.