Furphy Literary Awards shortlist announcement

Greater Shepparton City Council in partnership with the Furphy Foundation, Latrobe University and the GV Library Group would like to congratulate all the writers who submitted applications for the Furphy Literary Awards Open and Junior or Youth categories.

More than 1100 entries were received in the open category from across the nation and more than 250 for the Junior and Youth categories from students across the Goulburn Valley.

We are pleased to announce the entries selected for inclusion on the short list.

2020 Furphy Literary Awards Open Category:  

Author:                      Title:

Cate Kennedy          Ando Gets Plastered

Ruby Todd                 Awakening

Sue Osborne            King of George Street

Ya Reeves                Pub Raffle

Jean Flynn                Straining at the Leash

Mira Robertson         Waiting for the Dog

2020 Furphy Literary Awards Youth Short Story:

Author:                      Title:

Lacey O’Brien           Aggie and Fergus

Elly Miechel               An Atlantic Night

Sophie Campisi        A Perfect Coincidence

Heidi Smith                Gone

Imogen Templeton   Hard to imagine

Hannah Freeman    The Celtic Knot Tattoo

Layla O’Callaghan   To Love a Faery

2020 Furphy Literary Awards Youth Poetry:

Author:                      Title:

Georgia Flatman      Autumn

Ben Shelton              Colours of a lakeside life

Heidi Smith                Colours of That Night

Hailey Moffatt            Every Morning

Cliona Ingram           Little Green Box

Georgia Flatman      Memories

Miya Smith                Persimmons

Layla O’Callaghan   The Flavours of Demurity

Imogen Templeton   Time After Time

2020 Furphy Literary Awards Junior Short Story:

Author:                      Title:

Lilly Fidock                Beyond Earth

Alice Bourchier         Fortune Favours the Bold

Tylah O’Brien            Hope

Addison Oswald       Master

Lila Plunkett              Off Track

Riley Wooster           The Miner’s Hat

Janani Murali            Your Deeds are your monuments

Greater Shepparton City Council Mayor Councillor Seema Abdullah congratulated all for submitting entries.

“Thank you to all the writers locally and across the nation for sharing their stories with the literary awards, everyone who submitted should be complimented on their passion for writing and commitment for participating during these times,” Cr Abdullah said.

“I would like to extend a high recognition for those who were shortlisted, I wish you all the best for the final awards.

“The Furphy Literary Awards is of great value to our region, encouraging story telling and contributing to Australian literature.”

Furphy Literary Award director Sam Furphy said the calibre of entries was outstanding this year. 

“We are thrilled to receive such a strong numbers of entries from every state and territory of Australia and beyond.  Congratulations to all the authors who put forward their work for critical review.”

To ensure the health and safety of guests and to adhere to Government and Health guidelines this year’s awards will be held virtually and will be available to stream live on Saturday 25 July.

Furphy Literary Award director Adam Furphy said they were in the process of preparing for the virtual awards.

“Whilst we are disappointed not to be holding the event in person we are excited at the possibility of a wider audience than we might have expected.  The quality of the works submitted is really encouraging and we look forward to celebrating on in July.”

The awards will be available to streamed from the Furphy Literary Awards website, and Facebook as well as Greater Shepparton City Council’s Youtube Channel.

For more information visit www.furphyliteraryaward.com.au


Want to get the latest news and events in your Facebook feed?
Just go to our Facebook page and click the Like button.