Greater Shepparton Heritage Advisory Committee

Greater Shepparton City Council’s Heritage Advisory Committee advocates for the preservation and promotion of cultural heritage matters within the municipality.

The Committee meets once every month and has been established in accordance with the Greater Shepparton Heritage Advisory Committee Terms of Reference.

Nominations now open

There are currently community representative vacancies on the Heritage Advisory Committee. If you are interested in being a part of running and promoting heritage within Greater Shepparton, this is the perfect time to step forward and take part.

Nominations will remain open until remaining community representative vacancies on the Committee have been filled. 

Learn more

Cultural heritage includes both tangible cultural heritage (such as buildings, monuments, landscapes, books, works of art and artefacts) and intangible cultural heritage (such as folklore, traditions, language and knowledge). The municipality contains a wide-variety of cultural heritage places of local, regional and international significance, owing to its richly-layered history, dating back over 40,000 years.

The Heritage Advisory Committee run three events to promote heritage:

The group also promotes heritage via promotion of booklets, pamphlets, installation of signage.

The Committee's also provides advice and recommendations to Council on:

  • best practice in the management and conservation of all cultural heritage and its applicability to the municipality;
  • proposals related to cultural heritage places, collections and objects when referred or brought to the HAC/Council; and
  • on policy matters relating to cultural heritage, including but not limited to, the Greater Shepparton Planning Scheme.

The Committee helps Council administer two grants:

The Committee consists of:

  1. Two councillors (voting HAC members)
  2. Members of the Council's Strategic Planning Team
  3. The Council's Heritage Advisor
  4. One voting committee members from each of the following member organisations (more than one member from each organisation is welcome to attend the meeting but only one member has a vote):
    • Bangerang Cultural Centre
    • Dookie Historical Society
    • Historical Society of Mooroopna
    • Katandra and District History Group
    • Merrigum and District Historical Society
    • Murchison and District Historical Society
    • Shepparton Heritage Centre
    • Tatura and District Historical Society
    • Toolamba and District Community Plan Steering Committee
    • Yorta Yorta Nation Aboriginal Corporation
  5. A minimum of two and a maximum of six community members of the public unaffiliated with any of the organisations outlined above (voting HAC members).

Annual Reports

For more information please contact Council's Strategic Planning Team on 03 5832 9730.